Welcome to the Lutheran Parish of Iisalmi!
The Parish of Iisalmi was established in 1627 by King Gustavus II Adolphus of Sweden. The population of the region reached 2000 a century later.
Today there are 22.298 inhabitants in the town of Iisalmi, of whom 87.8% are members of the Parish. There are thus 19.570 members in the Lutheran Parish of Iisalmi.
The Parish has two church buildings. The old church is open daily from June 10 to Aug 20 from 10 a.m. to 6 p.m. You are very welcome to enjoy the beautiful milieu and guidance in English! The address of the church is Kirkkotie 20, Iisalmi.
Please learn more about
The Nature of Iisalmi region is charming. It was exquisitely described by Juhani Aho (1861-1921), the great writer and clergyman's son from Iisalmi. Juhani Aho is buried close to the old church.
The historic shores of the Koljonvirta river once were a battlefield of the Finnish War (1808-1809).
Learn more about the town of Iisalmi today.
|sivun alkuun tulosta sivu|